DEFRA
March 2026 snapshotCefas Infrastructure to Support Future Delivery at Sea
Government Transformation and Service Delivery
Record date: 31 March 2026
- Whole-life cost
- £152.9m
- Published schedule
- Not disclosed – Low: 31/03/2032, High: 31/12/2031
- NISTA delivery confidence
- Not disclosed
- Senior responsible owner
- Steve Millward, Tim Green
What the project is for
The Research Vessel (RV) Cefas Endeavour is due to come to the end of its planned design life in 2033. The project is at Outline Business Case and is seeking investment a for Preferred Option new RV with enhanced capability to continue our national critical data collection at sea activities for Defra and the UK Government, which includes sustainable fisheries, offshore energy, nature recovery, environmental regulation and emergency response. Our vision is to replace Endeavour with a modern, multi-disciplinary RV that enhances scientific capability (with additional deep and shallow water capability allowing for a delivery across a wider range of government departments), embraces emerging marine autonomous technologies (through a flexible ship design), supports net zero goals (dual fuel engines are capable of operating on future green technology as their technology readiness levels develop). Investment will also deliver key government missions to protect and restore nature, support national security and resilience and drive economic growth.
Departmental delivery commentary
The SRO Delivery Confidence Assessment for the project at FY25/26 Q4 remains Amber. This reflects ongoing discussions to secure the necessary investment for the Preferred Option and reflect the status as at March 2025.
Schedule
Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's planned end-date at 25/26-Q4 remained the same, reflecting the planned end of the design life of the current Cefas RV.
Cost
Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Whole Life Cost at 25/26-Q4 (at OBC and measured in £m) remained at £305m.
Benefits
Compared to financial year 24/25-Q4, the project's departmentally agreed Benefits at 25/26-Q4 (at OBC and measured in £m) remained at £1,748m.